May 1st

Sorry to take so long to post this.  Jessica emailed Monday, here are some notes from Dad’s email:

After this week you should probably use the mission office address, just because I don’t know if I’m getting transferred to a new area next week or not. I love getting your letters. They make the week seem brighter if it has been a rough day.
That’s no fun that Michelle had to go back to Running Springs but it sounds like you really had a good visit with them. Except for poor Sawyer’s ear ache.
I’m not going to lie this week has been rough. I feel like every suggestion I give is constantly thrown out the window. I’m being more involved in lessons now but I still feel like I’m not worth anything to my companion. But I’ve been studying a lot and constantly praying. I can see how Heavenly Father has answered my prayers. He has given me such a wonderful ward to work with. Every time I’ve felt down one of the ward members would make me feel like I was gold. The ward members are such a blessing.
We had Zone meeting this week and in a discussion Pres. Wilkey asked the junior companions to tell of an experience they had with prayer. One of the scriptures we talked about was Alma 34. I can’t remember the exact verse, but it was the one that talks about “pouring your soul out in your closet”. Anyway, I love that scripture because it always makes me think of you and how I have gained such a strong relationship with my Heavenly Father because of you. I love you Dad and would  be no where without you! 
So there are these funny twin 6 year old boys in my ward. Their names are Atticus and Thaddius, and they are in love with me. During sacrament meeting Thad kept putting his hand on my knee and at one point tried to sit on my lap (we can’t hold little kids). It’s so funny because Sister Merker (one friend of the family) always panics a little and has to continually remind them we only give high fives to the Sister Missionaries. They’re so funny. Atticus told me, “You just need to get with me” At least I know if I can’t find a husband I can come find these boys haha. They’re so funny. 
Well I love you Dad and hope you have a good day. I’m jealous of your nice weather. I don’t think it’s gotten warmer than 65. I love you! Have a good day! 
Oh will you tell me stories you remember with Grandma and Grandpa Vanderhoef? I heard an apostle say we can still build relationships with our family members that have already passed away. I was hoping that by continually hearing stories of them they wont seem so far away. Anyway, I love you!
 
Here are a few notes from my email.  Mostly I get the business end – I guess I need to ask better questions – but its ok, I am just so grateful for this whole experience – I love what Jessica is doing.  I love the choices she is making. 
So, Jessica said, “I saw a wild turkey on Saturday! It was just walking in the yard at the ward mission leader’s house. I got really excited.

Oh after this week just send mail to the mission office. I might be transfer next Tuesday and it will take forever to get letters if they’re sent here

transfers are every six weeks. There’s a chance I could be a trainer this next transfer, but it’s almost certain I’ll be on the transfer after that. I think we get 9 sisters this transfer and like 20 the next.

Right now they’re just adding sisters to areas with elders. They just split the area in half. It’s so good to have both though because we have two towns that have pretty much no members just because it seems almost impossible for one set of missionaries to cover all our area. That’s just the sister’s part of our area. The elders have a two towns like that too. So yeah they’re just adding Sisters to areas and I’m sure they will eventually split areas into smaller areas because they’re huge!

People out here are really nice. We haven’t done a lot of tracting but we need to. We only have two investigators and we need to find more. I have to get going though. I love you and will write you a letter today. Bye!

Leave a Reply

