April 22, 2013

I’m doing alright. I’ve been kind of sick this week so that has been kind of annoying. It was just a random cough thing and luckily it’s going away. I couldn’t believe there was a bombing at the Boston Marathon. That made me so sad to hear about it. I didn’t know there was also one in Texas though. I’m glad everyone at home is doing well. I miss you guys a lot.

I would love a copy of  Mom and Dad’s whole conversion story. I know bits and pieces of it, but I don’t actually know the whole story.   I have found that Mom and Dad are my best teaching tool out here. Everyone thinks I’m a typical Utah missionary and are shocked to hear that my parents are really converts from California.

Also I met the family of  Elder Latu.   He’s serving in the Riverside mission. When I told his mom that was where Michelle lives she gave me a big hug. She was just excited that they might know him. It was really funny.

I’m finding that I really love reading in Joseph Smith History and the Doctrine and Covenants. I’ve always enjoyed the D&C, but I’ve really enjoyed reading about Joseph Smith. It’s almost like it has made everything a little bit easier. I’m just so impressed with Joseph’s humility and how he doesn’t hesitate to say he needed help from the Lord. It just makes me feel so much better when I read about him.
President Wilkey has me doing the 12 week training in 6 weeks so we don’t usually leave the apartment until 12 or 1.  After that we meet with different families or investigators until we come in at 9.  Since our area is so spread out we get a car.  The Saco area has both Elders and Sisters so we split the area in half.  We have Kennebunk Port, Arundel, Biddeford, Hollis and Dayton.  Biddeford is considered ‘the city’ but is’s very similar to Lehi with a lot more people smoking.  I really like it out here though.  It goes from thick trees to ocean.  Its windy (where isn’t it windy)  and there are wild turkeys.
Things are going really well out here. We met with a family last night,  the Baileys.  They have a daughter who is 12 and twin 6 year old boys.  They are very much 6 year old boys. When we walked in they told me my name was hard, started break dancing, then told us they loved all girls. They were really funny.
The members in the ward feed us a lot!  It is very sweet of them to do that.  I am keeping an eye out for a crazy t-shirt for Dad.  I had to ask Mom to start  looking around for a GPS for when I start training.  Without the mountains, I have no sense of direction    – I love you all – till next week. . .
Leave a Reply

