Mom’s comments

So, here I am trying to be a great blogging person – not!  I like that in her email Jessica asked me to ask Cathy to publish her address on Facebook, which I already did by the way – I guess she does not have much confidence in her old mother – an opportunity I suppose I have earned.  But in spite of the past, I shall try to move forward, in an effort to regain her confidence.  I shall serve her as she serves the Lord.  I will try my best to keep you up to date on what is happening, at least as much as she tells me, which by the way, has not been much.  From the day, exactly one month short of 6 months ago, President Monson lowered the age for Sister missionaries and Jessica decided she wanted to serve, it has been a whirlwind tour. From the first appointment with her bishop in Logan to being dropped off at the MTC, things have happened so fast that I have had to stop and reflect on what happened before I can even talk about it.  As her mother, the person who first felt her presence on this earth, I am overwhelmed at the joy I feel.  Jessica embraced the gospel at an early age, she was the one who reminded us that we need to sit down and be quiet so we could listen to conference.  She was the one who put her head on my shoulder and cried as we sat in the tabernacle because she could not hear Sister Tanner, due to the many young women and their mothers walking on the hardwood floors.  And now, as you read in her email, she has allowed the Holy Spirit to enter her heart and mind as she prepares to teach the gospel in the Lord’s behalf and at His request.  I love her so much and I will try to keep you up to date as she shares with us her experiences in the New Hampshire, Manchester Mission.  If you would like to write her, the address, at this moment is

Sister Jessica Vanderhoef;  New Hampshire Manchester Mission;  2 Bedford Farms Drive, suite 208;  Bedford, NH  03110-6525      I will update if this is changed.  The mission president sent us a letter reminding us that short letters of encouragement that are reassuring and uplifting are best.  He suggested that we avoid writing about problems that may cause undue concern. So, I pass that on to you with love and gratitude that you would take time out of your busy lives to share some kind words of encouragement with my daughter.  Thank you – happy day!!

Leave a Reply

